Question about Cisco VPN Gateway

Published on by Emma lee

I have a recent install of a 40 meg FIOS internet connection. Unfortunately my internal network routers are end of life POS's and can't handle the new pipe. I'm only gettng 5.5 meg up and down but when I connect directly to the FIOS router (Cisco 3925E) I get over 40 meg. up and down.

I have a Cisco 1710 router with two 10/100 ethernet interface that is being used as the gateway between a small class c network and the internet and is extensively configured with NAT and port forwarding. Between that router and the ISP Cisco 3925E sets a Cisco 1721 that act as a virtual connect for our software vendor and has it own config that I'm not privy to using 2 T1 DSU/CSU and one 10/100 Ethernet interfaces.

I need to upgrade both 1700 routers. Because they don't allow for larger than 6 meg through put. What do you recomend as a replacement for each of the two?

The solution:

As you have a FIOS connection, I would tend to look at a Firewall to terminate the connection rather than a router.

Performance wise, the ASA 5505 series will have sufficient bandwidth for you. Unlike routers, the ASA 5505 series is licensed by the number of hosts that it protects, the entry level is 10 hosts, and it then goes up to 10, then 100 then unlimited. There is also the "sec plus" licence which adds dual WAN and increased VPN peers to "unlimited".

The ASA will give you tons of throughput, 150Mbps for the ASA5505.

The Cisco 1941 router also has 150Mbps if you are looking to stay with a router.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post